Recreational Programs

Trial Class: First Timers Only ($10)

Why not try out a class if you are not ready to register. Call to schedule. Fee will go toward the cost of the class if you register your child.

Now only once a month on the second Friday of the month. From 9am - 11am , kids and parents can drop-in for some unstructured playtime to try out the equipment, meet other kids and parents, learn to jump, roll, swing, land in a safe and soft environment. A good way to see if you have an up an coming gymnast! 

Baby and Me Drop-In


Ages 18 mths to school age

Parent and Tot begins with an instructed warm up to music and parents are required to do the spotting for their own child. The coach is then there to guide you both through the activities that you do on your own. This class a great way to integrate your child into the GymNation programs and to create a fun social setting. Kids can stay in parent and tot until they are ready to attend a class on their own, at the recommendation of the coach. One parent at a time per child permitted on the gym floor.

Parent and Tot 


Ages 18 mths to school age - 45 mins

For the child who is ready to go ion their own...and are potty-trained, they will begin to learn the basic skills such as handstands, cartwheels, forward and backward rolls etc. These skills are based on the four dominant movement patters: locomotions, landings, swings and rotations. This class builds a good solid base so children can safely and progressively move toward the more challenging skills. All children must be able to use the bathroom independently.


Baby doing yoga iStock_000010365551Small

Ages 3-5 years - 1 hour

Children who are new to gymnastics but are a little older will learn basic skills specific to this age group, will be challenged at their own skill level and will get an understanding for gymnastics terminology. Focus will be on the four dominant movement patterns: locomotion, landings, swings ad rotations, technique and skill execution.

Jr. Rec


6-8 Years - 1 hour

This class works on the same skill progressions but at a more advanced level for children who are not old enough for Sr. Rec but are too advanced for the Jr. Rec program.

Jr. Rec Advanced


6-8 years - Invitation Only

 For someone who has taken an interets in gymnasts at an older age or is progressing from Jr. Rec or Jr. Rec Adv, this class will focus on the CanGym Blue badge and up. Participants will be challenged at their own skill level and will work on all four events (Bars, Beam, Vault, Floor) with a bit of trampoline. 

Sr. Rec


Ages 9-14 years - 1 hour

Participants who have been in the Sr. Rec class and have shown above average skills and abilities will be invited to join the hour and a half advanced class. Participants will be challenged at their own skills levels and work on vault, floor, beam, bars with a bit of trampoline. The students will also have an opportunity to attend a Fun Meet at the end of the spring term in June. Here they will have an opportunity to show some of their skills.

Sr. Rec Advanced


Ages 9-14 years - 1 hour - Invitation Only

This is a feeder program into the competitive team and is by invitation only. Participants are chosen based on coach-ability, strength, attitude, disposition, body awareness, adaptability, natural and cognitive abilities. Participants will follow the TENS Evaluation Program. It is the expectation that parents are looking to have their child work towards the competitive team so they are taught skills to prepare them for potential competition. There is no guarantee into the competitive program as it will depend on the progression of the skills and abilities of the gymnast.



Ages 5-6 - 1.5 hours -  Invitation Only

This class is designed to focus on the basics for boys skills, drills and activities. Boys will learn floor, vault, rings, parallel bars and single bar work with some focus on strength training and flexibility. Boys who achieve the skills and abilities required for competitions will be given the opportunity.

Boys Developmental 


Ages 7-12 - 1 hour -  Invitation Only

NEW PROMOTION: Sign up for Tumbling or Trampoline as your second class and receive $50 off! This class consists mainly of floor skills involving things such as cartwheels, handstands, aerials, walkovers, handsprings, front and back tucks, and more! This class is designed for students that have some basic knowledge and understanding of skills and technique. This is the perfect class for cheerleaders, dancers, gymnasts, skaters, martial artists, parkour enthusiasts and fitness competitors.


tumbling gif.gif

Ages 7-12 - 1 hour

NEW PROMOTION: Sign up for Tumbling or Trampoline as your second class and receive $50 off! 

Students will learn basic to advanced trampoline skills. No previous experience is needed. They will follow the highly recognized Canadian trampoline program (CanJump)  that will take them through a series of beginner to very advanced skills that they can perform recreationally or have the option to compete. ANYONE WHO HAS A TRAMPOLINE IN THEIR YARD OR GOES TO TRAMPOLINE PARKS NEEDS TO TAKE A SESSION TO LEARN PROPER SAFETY TO AVOID INJURY. 

Trampoline Level 1 & 2

trampoline gif.gif

Ages 7-12 - Level 1 (1 hour)     Level 2  (1.5 hours)

This is a new program taught by an experienced cheer and gymnastics coach. It is two nights a week but is billed on a monthly basis. It is a recreational program that will generate a potential team that will attend competitions. To find out more, check out the Cheer Program page. Click Here. 


CheerNation Logo Black fill.png

Ages 7 - 14+ 

Private lessons are available for students who have already taken basic-advanced level gymnastics classes and wish to progress, or need additional assistance to gain particular/additional skills. If you are interested in Private Lessons, please contact GymNation.

Private Lession 


All ages - $50 per hour / $80 for a group of two / $120 for a group of four


The CANGYM Badge Level System


CanGym is a nationally recognized curriculum for recreational gymnastics. It's a 12-Level based program wherein there are skills that must be achieved to move on to the next level.

This program is based on skill ability and not on age.

There are approximately 30 skills per badge. At the end of each session, each child receives a report card indicating the skills which are Learning (L) Attempted (A) and Mastered (M). In order to pass a particular badge, each child must master all the skills on the report card.

Badges or Participation ribbons will be handed out with report cards at the end of each session.

These key program skills have been selected to ensure a clear progression from one badge to the next.

The progression through the colored badges is as follows:

Burgundy, Red, Tan, Bronze, Purple, Turquoise, Silver, Orange, Yellow, Green, Gold. 


Progress through the various levels depends on each child's abilities and efforts and therefore it often takes more time than one session of classes for a child to pass a particular level.



  • twitter-bird2-square
  • facebook-square

32 Park Dr. Unit #3

Elmsdale, NS

Unit #3

© THE GYM Ltd. all rights reserved.